#ClothingSpeaksME

Story Behind the Cloth has been moved over to storybehindthecloth.com
All new blog posts will be on there. This WordPress.com blog will be used only for announcements and Polyvore sets. This post is a preview. Click here for the full post.

Some specific articles of clothing just have a way of communicating who we personally are. They have a defining quality to them. Another person may not relate in the same way to the pieces you consider to be defining; but to you, it speaks you.

It may be because it’s sentimental: engagement ring from your one true love, friendship bracelet from your childhood best friend, sweater from your grandma…

Or it’s been functional through many ventures in your life: purse that held everything, comfy shoes that have withstood plenty of long journeys, jacket that has never failed to keep you warm and cozy, skirt with pockets…

Most of the time it has qualities that declare your personality: feminine lace, tenacious leather, playful polka-dots, wild tribal prints, glamorous glitter, girly bows, carefree denim…

Maybe it’s in your favorite color. Maybe it reminds you of something you love. Maybe it promotes something you care about. Maybe it even acts as a motivator when you see it in your day to day life… No matter what, it shares something about you.

I believe we all have at least one piece like this, and i’d love to hear about yours!

Click here to go to see some of my defining pieces

wpid-20151123_081702-01.jpeg

 

…Now it’s your turn! Grab those items of yours, snap some pictures and post them to Instagram or Twitter, hashtag #ClothingSpeaksME and let us all know the story behind them and what makes them special to you! If you post on Twitter, be sure to tag me: @BehindTheCloth  –I’ll be featuring some pieces in a future post.  I look forward to hearing from you!

2 thoughts on “#ClothingSpeaksME

  1. Hi I’m Linda. We met on Poshmark yesterday. I was inquiring about that first dress in your closet with a print of Roman pilars & sculptures on it. I decided to come here from your link on pm
    Just wanted to thank you for sharing your thoughts here. It’s helped me better understand who God has made me to be. I knew ( but needed to be reminded😉) God in His goodness allows us by free will, to write our story…WOW right!

    And you also helped me better understand my unique fashion. I’ve never fit into one specific category (you’ll see that in my PM closet @jmjla7). Hard to embrace. But getting there as I hear you say, different styles, fabrics -speak..guess I talk about a lot of different stuff. 😊Praise God for His creations & God bless. Keep writing ur gr8 story!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Linda!
      Sorry i didn’t see your comment until just now. It was really nice meeting you and getting to know you a bit on Poshmark. 🙂 I’m very happy that my blog has inspired you! That’s an encouragement to me. ❤
      My hope is that we can all remember the importance of our stories and be humble, patient, wise and active in the writing process. I know that, for me, these things can be easy to forget when life gets busy and confusing.
      Have a beautiful day, embrace your story and unique, ecclectic style, and God bless you! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

